Why mindfulness matters to your daily life

If you notice you have unease, anxiety, tension, stress or worry in your life – start to notice that your mind is not in the present moment in such moments.

When I describe mindfulness to people, I start by giving the common definition, as per Jon Kabat-Zinn, which is this:

Mindfulness is the awareness that emerges through paying attention on purpose,
in the present moment, and non-judgmentally to things as they are.

But then I see a sea of confused faces looking at me, so I then say:

“And why would you care to learn and practice mindfulness?  Because when you are present, that means you’re not thinking about the future or the past, so you learn to create a better experience of life.”

Here is a wonderful reminder from Eckhart Tolle:

Not enough presence

This is one big benefit of practicing mindfulness

Mindfulness and meditation are called a ‘practices’ because they take practice, you may not think you’re getting it right, and they do take some effort. Definitely worthwhile.

Have a wonderful day,

~Wendy Quan, of The Calm Monkey

 

 

2 thoughts on “Why mindfulness matters to your daily life

  1. Thank you for a fantastic reminder, Wendy! — “Because when you are present, that means you’re not thinking about the future or the past…” I realized how profound this is after trying to practice mindfulness for over a year. I kept coming across it and only after I let it sink in, I comprehended the importance of it. After that, it became much easier to practice mindfulness and meditation.

    • Hi Dusko – this is very good of you to share this. I like what you said “after I let it sink in…” this is a concept that can be a bit unclear or confusing initially, but once you hear it described in a few different ways, it starts to make sense. I had the same experience – after I started to understand it and ‘allow’ myself to adopt this practice, it became very powerful.

      Thanks so much!
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

