My life is overwhelming!

Carousel spinning

Life feels so fast and busy. How do you cope?
Photo credit: James Fielden.

I feel a level of sadness when I notice how every single day I have people telling me how overwhelming their lives are.  I hear:

  • “My life is just so busy, I don’t have time for anything!”
  • “There’s not enough hours in the day to do everything.”
  • “I know I put this onto myself.  It’s me who creates the pressure to do everything, but…”
  • “I’m exhausted.”

Sound familiar?

I’m certainly not immune to feeling this way either sometimes and it does take work to keep a good perspective in check.  Here are some tips that may help if you are feeling this way:

  1. First, take a breath.  Honestly, this may sound silly, but your breath is always available to you even on the busiest of days.  Pause and take some slow, conscious breaths. This will help ground yourself in the present moment and give you a mental break from your busy day. It feels so good to just breathe.
  2. Adopt an attitude of “There is exactly enough time to do what’s important in my life.”  When you change your perspective and take on a different attitude towards your life, your experience of life changes.  Say this quietly to yourself several times, then see how you feel.
  3. Take a mindful approach using Tara Brach’s RAIN.

I am a work-in-progress, but I am making progress!  Through self-awareness and making conscious choices, I know that the important things in life will happen as and when they should.  I go with the flow of life.

Life is about the present moment, and ensuring we don’t let these moments pass by unnoticed because we are too busy trying to get somewhere else.

Wishing you all the best,

~Wendy

6 thoughts on “My life is overwhelming!

  1. Happy to have discovered your blog. Meditation is helping me focus daily and listening to Tara Brach’s meditations and talks on her podcast. Here’s to being a work in progress. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    • Hello Madeline! Lovely to connect with you. Wonderful that you have found meditation to be so helpful in your life. We all are a work in progress, for sure! So having various tools can be so helpful in our lives.

      Thank you for visiting my site, and have a wonderful day!
      ~Wendy

  2. When I meditate for twenty minute in the morning, it allows me to be 20% more efficient, than when I don’t. In my experience, people who are too busy, don’t have the skills to prioritize their life.

    • Hi Arun,
      I do recommend that when people feel too busy, overwhelmed or stressed that’s the time to meditate more. Those who take me up on that always say it helps.
      I also think it’s a matter of perception too, at least some of the time. If we always feel we are too busy, if we decide to take on the attitude that there is enough time to do what needs to be done, then things just feel somewhat better.

      Thank you for your comment! Meditation always helps me for all sorts of situations.
      Have a wonderful day, Arun!
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

