Celebrating 5 years since my cancer diagnosis!

Wendy in Sedona

5 years of living life with intention and gratitude. Easing up on myself for not trying to be perfect and ‘doing’ so much.

Hi everyone, I want to share my celebration with you that today, May 7, 2015, marks 5 years since the day of my cancer diagnosis in 2010.

The so-called “5-year survival rate” refers to the percentage of patients who are alive at least 5 years after their cancer is diagnosed.  It’s certainly not an indicator of being cancer-free, or what the chances are for recurrence, but it seems like a good time for me to celebrate and recognize how I am today – which is pretty darned good!

The past 5 years have been especially marked by:

  • Continuous learning for whole-person, integrative healthcare to change the internal environment of my body so I could heal and stay healthy.
  • Paying my learnings forward by helping others with their cancer journey.

The most unexpected outcome of all, however, has been the discovery of internal strength that meditation and mindfulness has given to me, and now I teach this to others individually, in groups and in corporate workplaces.  My life has changed quite dramatically in the past 5 years – and surprisingly, for the better.

Every time I teach, I learn. 

Every time I help someone with their struggles in life, I feel my purpose.

You often hear people with cancer say that it was the best thing that ever happened to them – I’m not sure I would actually go as far to say that(!), but it did give me a hard kick in the pants and many things are so much better as a result. I still have some health issues, and some days the fatigue is depressing, but overall, I feel fortunate.

I send my gratitude to all of you who read my blog; somehow this makes a wonderful connection between us all.

Life certainly can be pretty hard at times, but remember, all the difficulties as well as the joys, are part of the human experience.

Don’t let life pass you by.

See life as an adventure.

Choose to live in joy, not fear.

 All the best to you all,

~Wendy

 

10 thoughts on “Celebrating 5 years since my cancer diagnosis!

  1. Congratulations Wendy! This is an important event to celebrate. Congratulations to everyone out there who is celebrating. I am looking forward to my five year celebration in September. Thank you Wendy for sharing your meditation experiences with us so that we may be reminded to pause and celebrate each day – and the many moments within each day. Namasté.

    • Elanna! How wonderful for you, too 🙂 Keep up the great work in staying healthy. I wondered how to celebrate my 5 year mark, and I decided what I wanted was to spend time in a park with friends just ‘being’. It was a perfect way to mark the day.

      I’m so glad you have contacted me through this blog, and I wish you nothing but the very best in life, and keep noticing every single day.

      ~Wendy

  2. Hi Wendy
    Congratulations on your first five years. I recall wondering whether or not I would make five after colon and prostate cancers. Well, it has been about 10 and counting but after all the reading I have done, I cannot bring myself to praise the present methods of treatment. Quite the contrary, there will be major changes in the not too distant future and the truth will be known, Our present system encourages methods which are known to cause cancer – It’s about $$$. Immunotherapy is developing and I firmly believe there are other approaches to cancer care that are effective but determining which is mind-boggling.

    We are still concentrating on colon cancer prevention and a good start is to energize the immune system, eliminate refined sugar, greatly reduce chemicals (read labels) and learn about screening.
    Enjoy Life!!!
    Don
    Club Chemo

    • Hello Don,
      First of all, congratulations on YOUR big successes. I know you are a life-long learner and your learnings help you and many others. Keep up the great work. I agree with you – there are a lot of great health practitioners out there and treatments of all kinds. I hope you’re right about the right changes and discoveries are not too far away. Boy oh boy, this is so needed. It’s so hard to know what to do; I do believe what nature intends for us must be a core way of healing, rather than poisoning.

      Continued good health to you and keeping your body strong. Screening/testing/monitoring is absolutely key though, and it’s unfortunate that doing this optimally is up to us ourselves. Most people don’t know that they can do this or how to do it.

      Sending you wishes for great health and happiness, Don,
      ~Wendy

  3. I remember that wonderful feeling when I hit the 5-year mark for bone cancer diagnose 35 years ago. I’m looking forward to doing the same now for breast cancer. Savour the joy. Celebrate. Congratulations.

  4. Dear Wendy,
    Congratulations on reaching 5 years since the day of your cancer diagnosis in 2010. Your dedication to your health, meditation, and also teaching meditation to others is miraculous. Keep up the good work. Love, Ann

    • Dear Ann, thank you so much. I’m happy to report on this, and the support you and the rest of the family give to me help more than you may know. Sending love to you now and always,
      ~Wendy

    • Sudhir, that’s a wonderful wish! Not sure I want to live THIS life for that long, but I would if I had all the good people around me, like you! Thank you for your continued generosity 🙂
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

