Think you can’t meditate?

The Calm Monkey

MeditationMany people say ‘I can’t meditate, I can’t sit still, I can’t quiet my mind.’

Without fail, as I ask questions about their experiences in how they came to that conclusion, I find these common issues that led to their attitude that they can’t meditate:

  • ‘I can’t blank out their mind’, or ‘my mind is so busy and my thoughts won’t stop.’
    • My response:  It’s important to know that blanking out your mind is not necessarily the goal of meditation. The focus of your meditation (whether it’s your breath, a silent mantra, etc) is what you concentrate on. Thoughts will naturally come to mind, and your job in meditation is to gently return to your focus.

  • ‘I’m too busy to meditate.’
    • My response:  Meditation does not need to be daily for an hour, as many people assume.  Even taking 10 minute breaks to meditate can produce huge benefits. Also, mindfulness…

View original post 203 more words

Welcoming your comment . . .

