I’m speaking in Las Vegas in April – how this happened

ACMP logoA series of recent events have culminated into my being asked to speak at the global Association of Change Management Professionals (ACMP) conference in Las Vegas in April. So how did this happen?

I’d like to share how I hold strong beliefs within me, which almost always manifest into reality. Here’s one example, and I show how I do this in the blue text.

  1. Nov 2014:  I write another paper about how I began workplace meditation in Vancouver over 4 years ago, and how I’ve integrated change management (helping people through change) into my teachings.  As I write each word of the paper, I hold a deep feeling that many people are going to read it and benefit from it. As I hit Send to submit it for judging, I trust that it will be well received.
  2. Feb 2015:  I get an email from the ACMP director that my paper has been chosen as a top winning paper to be published at the conference.  She offers me a free conference registration to attend.  I feel the deep gratitude, but due to my schedule, I turn down the opportunity to attend. I hold the feeling that the paper can still help people.  I hold the vision that I can help more people, somehow.
  3. March 2015:  The director contacts me again, asking me to reconsider attending, and in addition, entices me to come by offering me my own breakout session to speak at the conference.  My schedule had just changed and opened up. I accept this wonderful opportunity.  I now feel gratitude and a positive nervousness, and trust that this is part of the journey of my life’s purpose. 

Please see my session listed here. Please click on Tuesday, then scroll down to the 9:30am session called Meditation:  A Powerful Change Management Tool.

We all ‘want’ in our lives.  Most people are unaware that as they strive and long for what they want and don’t yet have, that they are suffering.  I see so many people in a mode of frustration.  One big learning I’ve had in my life is “enjoy the journey, and see life as an adventure”.  There were times when I wanted to just do all the things I’m passionate about and was impatient to wait to have this so-called perfect life, but once I realized that it’s important to enjoy the here and now, and truly experience the journey as it unfolds, life has become so much better.  Much of the longing has stopped.

Is being a conference speaker my goal?  Not particularly.  I actually don’t have a specific goal, but I do have a clarity that my purpose in life is to help people cultivate better lives. As long as I’m doing that, life is good.

Please enjoy your journey, every day.

~Wendy

24 thoughts on “I’m speaking in Las Vegas in April – how this happened

  1. Wendy, just read about your exciting news. We are so proud of you to be picked! Wow!!! You deserve this opportunity. xoxo Judy and Ron

  2. Congratulation Wendy ! Your courage and commitment to accept the invitation to speak for the whole world in Vagas about life and changes really touches many people hearts. Wishing you all the best and looking forward to your blog after the conference.

    • Hello David 🙂
      Thank you so much, that’s very kind of you, and I appreciate you taking the time to write this comment. It does mean a lot to me.
      Wishing you the best,
      ~Wendy

  3. Congratulations Wendy on submitting the top paper for the upcoming ACMP conference and for being asked to present. I believe your presentation will be very well received. I look forward to seeing you in Las Vegas!

  4. After reviewing the talks I think yours could effect a great change, how impressive they see it and that you had the courage to create this!

    • Allan, wow, thank you. You actually took the time to read some the other session descriptions. The delegates will be people from around the world who specialize in organizational change management. It is an honour to be asked to speak.
      I appreciate your encourage and support so much. You have been motivating me since the start of all this!
      ~Wendy

  5. I can’t begin to tell you how proud I am of you. I am so grateful first of all to have taken the time to nurture a life time friendship with you and my heart bursts with joy.
    You deserve this and more importantly those that receive your gift will be like many of us very lucky indeed.

    • Grasshopper, aw, how generous and sweet of you. We have seen each other through some real life challenges, haven’t we. And many, many people have greatly benefited by knowing you. Thank you for your continued support and encouragement. Always wishing you the best,
      ~Wendy

  6. Dear Wendy,
    Congratulations as you continuously enjoy your Journey ! Indeed the power of the here and now. As I learned from your session – mindfulness meditation, which i can do anytime, anywhere.
    Your LV listeners will be blessed and enriched for sure. Cheers to you:)

    • Roland, it’s so great to hear from you! You were one of my early students, so fond memories there 🙂
      All the best to you and your family,
      ~Wendy

  7. Wendy, I get goosebumps as I read this post. How universally perfect and ACMP will be SO much better for your presence and commitment. I look forward to you blogging about how it all goes!

    • Hi Nicole! Oh how wonderful to hear from you!
      I didn’t think about blogging about it afterwards, but now you have me thinking. 🙂
      Thank you so much for commenting, and I hope you are doing wonderfully well.
      ~Wendy

  8. Dear Wendy,

    I’m so pleased that you were invited to speak at ACMP and that you can make the time to go. You have helped so many people already and this will be a way to help so many more. Your nervousness is understandable, but your calmness always comes to the forefront and I have no doubt that your speech will be a great success. I am so proud of your goal to help other people and to follow through with that goal so diligently. I’ll be thinking of you that very moment and wishing you the best.

    Love you, Ann

    • Ann! Your loving support has always been a huge inspiration to me. I wish I could show you to all my readers and friends, because you are amazing. Thank you for being you.
      Love,
      ~Wendy

  9. This is fantastic Wendy; you will rock the place! ha-ha
    Isn’t it great when you do something that feels right.
    Good luck and lots of love. – Arun

Welcoming your comment . . .

