Workplace meditation is growing fast

Teaching_at_UBC

I’m currently teaching my 4 week ‘Learn to Meditate’ class for faculty and staff at UBC. What a wonderful group, eager to be there. This is a tweet from UBC to their healthy community.

Meditation and mindfulness has made its entrance into the workplace. No longer is meditation only in monasteries, meditation centers or in the privacy of one’s home.

In 2011, I set a strong intention to share what I know about meditation with those who were curious. What I’ve seen first hand is that the world has shifted quite dramatically, especially in the past 2 years.  In 2011, a small percentage of the population was curious and open enough to try meditation. Now, a large percentage is eager and excited about it.

The reason for this eagerness is simple:  people are stressed and need a way to find calm and joy in their lives, and build resiliency to this busy world. Meditation is free.  Meditation is not difficult to learn, but it does need to be learned correctly to avoid pitfalls and cultivate a successful life practice.

My personal goal was simple:  to teach meditation to as many people as I could.  I teach public classes, and my all-time favourite thing to do is teach in workplaces.  Our workplaces tend to be a key stressor.  My clients include the City of Vancouver and the University of British Columbia (UBC).

I am truly blessed.  Not only have I found my purpose and passion, but I am getting to live it.

I expressed my vision last year:  That meditation will be as mainstream in the workplace as yoga by 2018.  Here’s the interesting thing about that – this is becoming a reality much sooner than I anticipated!  I now think this will happen by 2015. It’s easily within arm’s reach now  🙂

With lots of gratitude,

~Wendy

 

4 thoughts on “Workplace meditation is growing fast

  1. Words can’t express how much joy it brings me to see you live your dreams. I so honored to witness your journey. You are an inspiration and I am so grateful that you are in my life.

    • Hi Marjolaine, you are such an encouraging light in my life, thank you so much. It’s wonderful to have you along for the ride! and next, it will be beautiful to see you develop and blossom your passions in life.

      Hugs to you!
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

