Trends in Violence

Rightly or wrongly, I do not watch the news. I find it disturbing and disheartening to see the negativity and violence. Cultivating a joyful life for me, does not include following news about violence. When I read this post from one of my all-time favourite bloggers ‘Downward Facing Doc’ (we share a deep interest in meditation and integrative medicine), it was promising to read. I’d like to share it with my readers.

~Wendy

downwardfacingdoc

While it seems like our world is becoming more dangerous, the data show quite the opposite. The trend line shows an accelerated reduction in violence from prehistory that continues into the 21 st century.

I’m reading “The Better Angels of Our Nature: Why Violence Has Declined” by Harvard psychologist Steven Pinker. Pinker uses a detailed analysis of data regarding violent deaths including murder, and all varieties of strife from small riots to world wars to show, beyond a doubt, that the world is becoming safer and safer. A big part of Pinker’s argument centers around the development of global pro-social emotional capacity that is exemplified by the work of positive psychology and the cross pollination of western psychology and Buddhism (mindfulness). Key leaps occurred with the invention of printing, which resulted in exchange of ideas and increased capacity for perspective taking and empathy as well as commerce, which made rivals…

View original post 60 more words

7 thoughts on “Trends in Violence

    • Hi Karuna, I agree. That was my first thought too – that I wasn’t sure I believed this. But perhaps because of social media these days, we hear more, even though the actual trend is decreasing. I sure hope it’s true!
      Thank you for commenting and have a very nice day,
      ~Wendy

  1. Thank you always. How do I follow his blog? Downwardfacingdoc? Not tech savy!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Hello Donna,

      If you have a WordPress account, you can click ‘follow’ at the top of the screen when you’re looking at a blog that you like. On my blog, I allow non-Wordpress users to follow me by typing in their email address, but it appears that Downwardfacingdoc does not have that option. He doesn’t post too often, but when he does it is always worthwhile reading. Perhaps you can setup a WordPress account so you can follow it, or simply save the URL and check it occasionally.

      I hope this helps 🙂
      Have a lovely day!
      ~Wendy

  2. Hey Wendy! I like this blog on violence, thanks! I will add it to my Facebook. I’m leading the attached retreat this weekend. I missed Greg’s birthday last week. Did you know? How have you been? With metta, Brian

    • Hi Brian 🙂

      Thanks for sharing out my post. I’m doing quite well, thanks. It’s been a challenging first 5 months of the year, but things are good and getting better and better.
      Enjoy your retreat!

      All the best,
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

