5 Top regrets of the dying

regret nothingMaybe you’ve heard of this before – the common regrets people have on their deathbed. (See below).

I’m writing this not just to remind you about these regrets or to be morbid, but to inspire you to do something about it. Most people intellectually know “Yes, I know, I should do things that make me happier, I should not let others influence me so much, I should… I should…”  But most of us don’t do much about it until our livelihood is threatened – whether it’s a serious illness, or seeing someone close to us die.

I was one of these people.  It took a cancer diagnosis to really wake me up and make the effort to change my lifestyle and my perspective on life. I wasn’t doing too badly, but I let the day-to-day things stress me out. I am one of those people who look back and say that the cancer diagnosis was one of the best things that happened in my life.

Through self-awareness and learning life skills like meditation and mindfulness, I personally am a better, more alive person than I have ever been.  As I see people around me every day that are awakening and having a genuine human experience, it gives me hope that more and more people can do this.

Here are the Top 5 regrets of the dying, as I have seen on many websites over the years:

REGRETS OF THE DYING

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier. (this was a big one for me!)

Let these sit with you for a moment. Sit quietly and take them in. Allow yourself to be open to making changes in your life for the better.  Gosh, even do something about it.  I invite you.

~Wendy

12 thoughts on “5 Top regrets of the dying

    • Hi Al, yes they are challenging, but we don’t have to be perfect either. Inspiration to grow and learn is a continuous journey. Thanks so much and you have a great day,
      ~Wendy

  1. I think that the top two regrets are related, in the sense that working hard is only a regret if you are not doing what you love. If you love what you do, working a lot isn’t a regret. Joseph Cambell’s advice given near the end of his life resonates here – “Follow your bliss”

Welcoming your comment . . .

