Why journal?

journal

Write a journal in any way you want. There are no rules.

I used to think that writing in a journal was for day-dreaming teens.  Since my cancer diagnosis and choosing to live life with intention, I have started keeping a journal.

Cultivating joy for me includes being mindful and recognizing what’s going on in my life and how I am experiencing life.

Here are some benefits to journaling that I have found:

  1. Living your life with intention means being self-aware and not sliding through life on auto-pilot. Journaling is a great way to write down your intentions, goals and plans.  I find it so interesting to look back in my journal after months or years to see just how my intentions have manifested, or not. More often than not, I find that if I had set an intention, it comes true – and that feels pretty good!  It shows the progress I have made.
  2. It’s a great way to express emotions without having to speak about it. Sometimes we just need a confidential avenue to express ourselves.
  3. It’s my way to record important shifts and events in my life. Especially when something wonderful happens, recording my gratitude helps me remember when life is good.
  4. If you practice meditation, journaling your experiences during meditation is rather fun.  Some of my meditation students have started journaling and enjoy noting the increase in sensations and experiences they are having as they cultivate their practice.

There are no rules to journaling.  There is no pressure to write regularly or in any particular way. Select a journal that you are drawn to and feels like your own.

I know some people like to journal on their computer.  Sometimes when I have a lot to journal I do it on the computer as I’m a fast typist, but somehow I find it very satisfying to curl up on the sofa and write it out by hand.

Here is a good article about journal writing that I found on the Plum Deluxe website.

~Wendy

6 thoughts on “Why journal?

  1. I love journaling because it’s so great for perspective. It also forces me to slow down – and often, that really is what I need.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. I have to agree with you about curling up and writing. It just feels so natural and simple. Plus it helps me feed my stationery fetish when i have to buy a new pen or notepad 🙂

    • Hello Tartan Buddhist, it’s comforting and grounding somehow to sit down and put pen to paper to journal. When I sit at the computer to journal sometimes, it just feels like I’m doing computer work. thanks so much for your comment!
      ~Wendy

  3. I have said this to you before, but I feel pulled to say it again… I always enjoy your blog posts. Your blog is full of wonderful information and its always so useful. Thank you so much for sharing yourself, your journey and the practices that you use. I like to think of your blog as a beautiful gift from the universe.

    With so much love and gratitude,
    Leora

    • Leora, what an absolutely lovely comment for me to wake up to and see this morning! Thank you so much. This blog is like journaling for others around the world. Being so open isn’t exactly easy for me to do, but somehow I feel it’s a way to connect with others that I would not be able to in any other way.

      I truly appreciate your sentiments and it fuels my desire to keep going with it.

      With love and gratitude to you as well,
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

