Starting a spiritual journey, maybe?

path through forest

Make your path your own

Say the words ‘spiritual journey’ and sit back to witness the kinds of responses (or facial expressions) you will get back!

You may or may not consider yourself spiritual, or maybe you really haven’t thought about it too much. And if you are spiritual, how do you express that in your life?  I would put money on one thing – that if you haven’t thought it was important to you, once you are faced with a life-challenging situation, such as serious health issue or the death of someone important to you, you probably will start thinking more seriously about the gift of human life.

I have found in talking to people that ‘being spiritual’ can mean a variety of things.  Some say ‘I consider myself spiritual but not religious’, and some say their spirituality comes from their religious beliefs.  Some talk about their soul’s experience in this lifetime. Some people glaze over or try to mask their discomfort when the word ‘spiritual’ is said. Some people just don’t know.

How does one ‘start’ a spiritual journey?  What is a spiritual journey? Why would someone want to do this?

These are good questions, and if you happen to be someone who is at this point in your life – curious, interested, but unsure – do not fret over it, but approach it with wonder and exploration.  Know that everyone’s journey is unique. There are unlimited ways to explore your path.  Be careful not to make a judgment about a spiritual path because maybe you’ve talked to some people and have made assumptions about what it is.  You can make it your own.

To me, the simplest way I describe my journey is being awake and aware (not living life in auto-pilot), and living life with intention.  I exploring my life’s purpose, and choose how to live my life every day that speaks to this purpose.  I am not perfect, and I have unlimited opportunities to grow and learn.

This is obviously a huge subject, but in my view, an important one.

So now I ask, what is your spiritual journey?

~Wendy

4 thoughts on “Starting a spiritual journey, maybe?

  1. I think we are all on a spiritual journey whether we are aware of it or not. It is like we are all in a river that is flowing downstream, and some people are just being swept along by it, unaware that they are even moving, while others are scanning the shoreline, and paddling toward something. I think that for most people who would say they are on a spiritual journey, what this means is that they have set goals for themselves such as inner peace, resolution, destruction of the ego, or accepting things as they really are.

    In my journey, I am constantly striving to be here now, in the present moment and to see everything, including myself, as very temporary. I am very aware that I am only here for a short time (by cosmic standards), and that everything around me will crumble and fade and eventually, even my memory will be long gone. Many times a day, I reflect on the words “This too shall pass.” Everything we think of as so important – like the economy, are just temporary states of affairs. Millions of years from now, the Earth will still be here, and all of humanity will be just another layer in the sediment, long forgotten, and we will have evolved into something entirely different by then. When you see your life from the perspective of cosmic time scales, we are all just brief sparks that arise and vanish in a flash. This perspective helps me realize how very precious my time here is, and still realize that anything I accomplish is really temporary. I can let it go. Not connect my ego or sense of self to my trivial accomplishments or possessions. I only have the present moment. That is all there really is. The past and future are not real, they are only constructs of the mind (memory and imagination). I find this perspective thrilling and liberating. If you knew you would die tomorrow, would you do things any differently? I strive to live a life in which I can say that even if I knew I was going to be dead tomorrow, I would still be doing exactly what I am doing right now. Writing this, for example. Of course, I do have to work and pay bills and live a regular life, but constantly reminding myself of my impermanence really puts things in perspective for me, guides my actions, allows me to let go of my attachment to things, and value the time I spend with people and with nature.

    • Hi Ken, what you have added is extremely true and valuable. I hope lots of people read what you wrote. Even if someone doesn’t agree with everything you wrote, I hope they accept the essence of what you are saying. We torment ourselves with the past and future, and if we are aware of this, we can make the shift to stopping the torment. It is constant work, and we may move in and out of that practice. I know I do. But writing this blog and interacting with people on this level helps me maintain this important practice.

      Thanks so much Ken,
      ~Wendy

  2. I love how you’ve described your journey. Thank you!
    I like the way Angeles Arrien describes the Blessing Way as having three components: sacred intention, gratitude, and life-affirming action. That’s basically what I aspire to.

    • Hello Souldoula, wow, thanks for sharing that. I like that – sacred intention, gratitude and life-affirming action. It’s a good way to live, isn’t it! Lovely of you to share, thank you,
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

