Attention to your breath – is it boring?

breatheYou may know that many meditation and relaxation techniques ask you to pay attention to your breath.  When I started doing this, I sure found it b-o-r-i-n-g!  Not to mention I found it difficult to sustain it for more than 30 seconds. I even dropped doing it for awhile, but since I went back to that practice, I have found the peace that experts and sages have been talking about.

Simply focusing on your breath, paying attention to each inhalation and exhalation, and riding the waves of your breath is not only very relaxing, but it helps to take your attention away from whatever may be bothering you.  If nothing is bothering you, it gives you a sense of feeling how alive you are. It’s being in the moment. It is available to you at any time, anywhere.

I like to follow the author named Dr. Rick Hanson. He has a newsletter that is simple, makes sense, and is very helpful. It’s called ‘JOT’ (Just One Thing), and offers very simple techniques and perspectives that help cultivate joy in your life.

Don’t underestimate the power of the breath. It gives you life, and it brings you back to who you are.

Bring yourself to the present moment by regularly focusing on your breath.

~Wendy

4 thoughts on “Attention to your breath – is it boring?

  1. Breathing meditation is so simple and so difficult! My first practice of the day is 15 minutes of breathing meditation, which is normally a peaceful and smooth training in concentration.
    This practice is one of my favourite ways of calming my mind when it’s troubled as well. This is when I lose the object appallingly rapidly! It’s also when I’m inclined to give up, and when I most need to do it.

    • Hello Jas, thank you so much for contributing your own experiences! Breathing meditation is simple and difficult at the same time, I agree. But the benefit is so worth it.
      Have a wonderful day,
      ~Wendy

  2. This is so true about breath. I practice yoga on a regular basis and have to make sure that I am breathing properly through all the positions. When I meditate for some reason it has taken me longer to master this but with some attention and time I have been able to even stop during the day when I am feeling anxious and concentrate on my breath and it brings me right back to a place were I can collect my thoughts. Thanks again for your wonderful knowledge.

    • Grasshopper, thanks for the reinforcing message here, that it does take time and practice to enjoy and benefit from focusing on the breath. It’s worth the effort to cultivate this!
      Have a wonderful day,
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

