Allow those sad emotions, even if only in private

Being sad

photo courtesy of Google images

We all go through it. We all have tough times in our lives.  Whether it is a short-term or chronic situation, a lifeless marriage, loneliness, grief, or a health condition that plagues us – we all need to face interacting with our daily lives and other humans around us.

We put on a facade, a brave face. We feel we need to be strong. We feel we ‘should’ think positively.

What I have learned through my divorce and recent cancer journey is an important lesson:

That we are human and we wouldn’t be human without emotions. We must allow ourselves the ups and downs, and release the energy that builds up inside of us. It’s not only OK to do this, it’s healthy to do this.

The hard reality is we all have a persona we want to project to the world. Likely that persona does not include showing when we’re sad or upset.  I understand that keeping the facade is valid at times, like at work, but when you’re alone or with trusted friends or family, let it go!

So many times I have been blessed with the trust of people confiding in me about some sort of problem they have.  For example, think of someone with cancer trying to put on a brave face to the world.  I often tell them this if they are one to ‘be strong’:

It’s OK to be sad, it’s OK to not be strong all the time. Allow yourself to be sad, release that energy and emotion, and simply know it is temporary. Allow the ups and downs.

I’m told this has helped so many.  It still helps me. I guess if I had my own mantras, this would be one:  allow the ups and downs.

I hope this is helpful to you, and thank you for reading.

~Wendy

Related article:

6 thoughts on “Allow those sad emotions, even if only in private

    • Thank you so much for your comment and sharing my post out. Your blog is an inspiration and lovely. I always love seeing your photo of aerial yoga!
      Blessings to you,
      ~Wendy

  1. Hi Wendy,
    Thank you so much for this post today. It was just what I needed. You sound so much like a kindred spirit, and I can’t help but think – if we were all to admit it, we’d all probably be saying the same thing. I too try to be positive and grateful for all my blessings. I look for the silver lining even when it feels like the hardest choice. I’ve also learned with mindfulness that we need to feel it all. Good, bad and the ugly. Feel it. Look at it. Name it. All it’s ugliness and worry. Then we can let it go. I guess it’s the pretending, numbing out and running that keeps us stuck. I too am grieving loss as all of us are. For me, it’s this practise of mindfulness and meditation that helps me move through and forward. I’m so grateful for this practise.
    Thinking of you,
    Kim

    • Hi Kim, just lovely. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this subject. You know of what I speak, I’m certain.
      Have a lovely day, and just feel 🙂
      ~Wendy

  2. So true. I think bottling up emotions is probably one of the single most harmful things you can do to your mental and physical well-being. Going through those emotions, feeling them, talking about them and allowing yourself to cry or grieve and have the catharsis of release is so healthy and cleansing.

Welcoming your comment . . .

