Bringing meditation into the workplace – Article #1

Wendy leading meditation in the workplace

Leading meditation in the workplace, a weekly 30 minute lunchtime class.

I’d like to share my story with you about how a passion of mine came to be.

In early 2011, when I returned to work after a leave of absence to deal with my cancer, my co-workers discovered how important meditation had become in my life.  They asked if I would show them what I know about meditation. That’s how it all began.

I thought, ‘who, me?’.  Then I realized I actually do have a lot to share from the many courses and meditation study I have done over the years. Meditation has given me strength, resiliency and joy in ways I didn’t know were possible. My friends wanted to learn how they could also gain this in their lives.

So I put together a series of classes designed specifically for beginner meditators that show various techniques and address common misconceptions and problems as people first start to meditate. Whenever I learn more, such as Mindfulness-Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) and Dr. Dispenza’s work on how to re-wire the brain, I share these as well.

The groundswell of interest in our organization started with 12 of my co-workers talking about the class at the water cooler, and today I have over 80 students in my weekly lunchtime classes. More than 10% of our organization!  This even includes 4 of our executives.

What a wonderful journey this has been, both for myself and the wonderful people who attend my classes.  Bringing people together from all departments and levels of the organization for a common, positive purpose is a unique experience.  I have seen how some people have changed and found a freshness in their lives.

In my next posts on this story, I’ll discuss how through this teaching I stumbled across partnering my corporate ‘day’ job with my ‘passion’ of teaching meditation and mindfulness, and some stories from the participants.  Stay tuned.

Related posts:

~Wendy

5 thoughts on “Bringing meditation into the workplace – Article #1

  1. It’s so wonderful that you are bringing spirituality into your workplace. Imagine how we would all thrive if we had the freedom to be spiritually authentic at work. And I have no doubt that your organization will benefit tremendously from this effort. Even if only a minority is participating, the impact will be profound. Excellent!

    • Hello Souddoula, thank you for such a thoughtful comment on my post. Yes, I am still in awe about this everyday. The changes I see in people are fascinating and these people are understanding the effects it is having on their lives and those around them. Their experience with their own lives is changing for the better. It is amazing to witness.

      Thank you for your encouragement. I sincerely appreciate that. Have a wonderful day,
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

