Do you know what this is? #2

Well, my last post was fun. I had a lot of online and offline comments about what that photo was, so I thought I’d give you another one.

What do you think this is?

interesting vegetable

Is it a bush or a plant? A fruit? A vegetable?

Maybe you’ve even had this on your dinner table.  Let’s take a closer look, shall we?

interesting vegetable - closer

What is that??

Ah ha, now do you know?  Well, it’s one of those green vegetables people tend to either love or hate.  When I saute them with a bit of onions, olive oil and chicken stock, they are tasty.

These are brussel sprouts!  When I saw them at the farmer’s market for the first time like this, I was fascinated.  Isn’t it interesting how we take our food for granted – we easily buy what we need at the grocery store and rarely think of how it grows or is produced.

Seeing brussel sprouts in their natural state made me stop and say ‘wow’.

The next time you look at your dinner plate, think about how the food got there.  On a personal note, this is one of the reasons why I’ve become a vegetarian!

~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

