Surround yourself with the right people

Whistler Olympic plaza

Surrounded by people enjoying a summer evening at the Olympic Village Plaza in Whistler, British Columbia.

I think it’s valuable to ‘take stock’ of the people you choose to spend your time with.  We change as we go through life, whether we realize it or not. Maybe someone made a good friend for you at one point, but no longer is really right for you. Maybe you have found a friend for life.

Have you ever spent time with someone, then thought to yourself “why am I friends with this person, anyway?”  It’s actually a good question to ask yourself.

For the situations where you can choose with whom you spend time (as opposed to people you work with, for example),  I think it’s important to surround yourself with people who give you a boost or a sense of meaning.  An example of a ‘boost’ is someone with whom you have with a synergy with – maybe a common interest, someone who challenges your thinking, someone you can grow with, or someone who supports and understands what you’re all about.  An example of a ‘sense of meaning’ may be someone you can help, and make a positive difference in their lives.

I also think it’s important to be aware of someone who might be draining your energy.  These people can be ‘energy vampires’ who leave you feeling tired and who are constantly extra needy.  Is there someone in your life who is toxic and bringing you down?  Can you remove yourself from the situation, or at least minimize the effect on you?

Everyone is different – so you may see this differently than I, but the point I make is really about spending time, when you can, with those who contribute to YOU being YOU.

Don’t be afraid to explore new friendships. After all, everyone is changing, and sometimes people are meant to come into your life for a period of time, but perhaps not a lifetime.  Choose healthy relationships.

~Wendy

9 thoughts on “Surround yourself with the right people

  1. I want to thank you for this post. This is what has been happening in the past two years of my life. I have been so overly blessed with meeting such wonderful people and some of which I have become close friends. We try not to feel like we are burdening our friends with too much but what I realized this year especially is that not once has anyone said to me that this is remotely true. It was all in my head and I am really grateful for all the unconditional support I have been shown. I have there back and they have mine. One grateful grasshopper.

  2. Wendy, brave to voice this, spent 2 days at Inspire Health and they said that cancer patients are to a high per cent people pleasers and caretakers and not good at selfcare, it is important to learn to set boundaries and protect ourselves and practice self love.

    • Thanks Al. I’ve heard this as well. We all need to take care of ourselves too, in order to be useful and helpful to others. I’ve learned this the hard way.
      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

