Self-healing comes from helping others

Have you noticed that some people are always helping others, are quite selfless, and have loads of compassion for others?  People with so much selfless and active compassion are gifts to others on this earth.

Many of the people I know who give like this without expecting anything in return are those who have come through some kind of significant life challenge themselves.

heartFor me, I don’t mean to call myself a ‘gift to others’ but as I learn more about myself I realize that helping others in meaningful ways really does bring about self-healing for me.  I honestly feel a warmth in my heart when I know I’ve helped someone.  Sometimes it feels like an energetic spark and sometimes it’s like my heart is swelling. Helping others is one of the ways I cultivate joy in my life.

~Wendy

12 thoughts on “Self-healing comes from helping others

  1. Hi Wendy,
    I’ve just found your blog. It’s so inspiring and beautifully written. It was so nice to open my first post with that big red heart! I couldn’t agree with you more about giving to others as a way to cultivate joy in our lives!
    I’m very interested in the MBSR course you took in Vancouver. Can you provide me with a website? I’ve been practising meditation for over a year now and have read several of JKZ’s books. I would like to deepen my practise. Thank you so much and have a lovely week,
    Kim

    • Hello Kim,
      How wonderful to ‘meet’ you. Thank you for writing.

      I think you will enjoy the MBSR course and having read Kabat-Zinn’s books will form a nice foundation for you. As you may have read in my posts, I really enjoyed the variety of things we did in the class. The 1 day retreat was wonderful and very peaceful.
      Here is a website that lists all the instructors in BC: http://www.mbsrbc.ca/pages/teachers.htm
      Please scroll down to ‘Marian Smith’. She organizes the course and Brett Peterson was the main instructor. They are both very good.

      Thank you for your kind words about my blog. I truly appreciate it. Writing this blog has become part of my self-care. Have a lovely week too!

      ~Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

