I applaud Congressman Tim Ryan

A U.S. Congressman, writing a book about mindfulness – now that makes you go ‘hmmm’!   I applaud Congressman Tim Ryan for raising awareness of what mindfulness did for him and sharing what he has learned with the world by writing his book “A Mindful Nation: How a Simple Practice Can Help Us Reduce Stress, Improve Performance, and Recapture the American Spirit.

Congressman Tim RyanI went to see him speak at an event sponsored by the Dalai Lama Centre for Peace and Education.

What struck me about his talk is this:  he is a successful, career-driven man who came to the realization that he was very stressed out and he wasn’t afraid to admit it – good for him.  He sought out mindfulness and learned the MBSR technique (Jon Kabat-Zinn’s Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction), made it part of his life, and sees that the world really needs this.

Mindfulness is a big part of my life, and I have also seen significant, life-changing results from the people I teach in my meditation and mindfulness classes.

It’s such a simple concept, and it takes intention and practice to reap the benefits.

My blog is all about ‘cultivating joy in a western society lifestyle’ – here it is, my friends, mindfulness can bring you joy in your life.

Lately I’ve had numerous sources of inspiration – this visit with Tim Ryan being one of them.  He has encouraged me to write a book on my experience teaching meditation and mindfulness in the workplace.  Hmmm… maybe I will    :o)

See a good 7 minute video of Tim Ryan defining what he means by mindfulness:

7 thoughts on “I applaud Congressman Tim Ryan

  1. I have this and did it for a long time… Jon Kabat-Zinn’s Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction. I think I better get back on it once more.

    • Good for you Barbara… isn’t it great to have such tools within our experience, and reminders like this help us remember how life changing they can be.

    • Thanks DFD! Yes I’m so glad I went to his talk. Thanks for your encouragement about a book. I am seriously considering it; a whole new experience for me. If I do it, I’ll probably be blogging about it :o)

      Take care DFD,
      Wendy

Welcoming your comment . . .

