Receiving awards makes me so thankful

Lately I have been deeply touched as I have received a number of awards.

employer awardRecently, my employer gave me an award that is essentially like an employee of the year award for 2011, for volunteering my time to run a meditation and mindfulness class at work for more than one year now. The money raised gets donated to cancer organizations.

What struck me is this:  I’m just so thankful for having the opportunity to do this and having a wonderful group of people at work who are so interested, curious and committed to this practice.  I really feel it is a gift to me when someone opens up and tells me how the class is helping them.

And for this blog, I have received 4 awards in the past few weeks.  I sincerely thank those who have discovered my blog and find some value from it.

In thinking about receiving these awards, I think back to the times in my life when I’ve felt unrecognized for the things I thought I was giving selflessly to. I would wonder if people noticed what I did, or cared…  I came to realize that the main motivation to give to others needs to come from within.  This is difficult to do sometimes, I know, and receiving recognition from time to time really helps boost this motivation.

The reason I decided to write this post is to encourage anyone reading this to take make the effort to find one or more people who are deserving of appreciation and do something to thank them.   I try to do this as much as I can, and I believe it comes back to me in some valued way – I believe in the Law of Attraction.  We all need to pay it forward and it will make this world a better place.  We each play a part in our collective world, so don’t ever doubt that what you do matters.

7 thoughts on “Receiving awards makes me so thankful

Welcoming your comment . . .

