Book Review: Anti-Cancer, a New Way of Life

AntiCancer bookI have been meaning to write about this important book – it’s important because it encapsulates my beliefs that one can thrive through cancer with the right attitude and lifestyle improvements, and shows people what to do to inhibit cancer growth.

I just googled the book’s website so I could share it with you, and was shocked to see the headline on the website that the author, Dr. David Servan-Schrieber, a dedicated scientist and doctor, has just recently passed away in July 2011 after a 20 year battle with cancer.

I thank Dr. David Servan-Schreiber for sharing his story and knowledge

The skeptic voice in our heads may be saying:  “if he was an expert on anti-cancer, why did he end up dying?”  Let’s not be hasty in such thoughts – after his brain cancer diagnosis he lived 20 years, living much of the time in good health and helping others thrive.  After all, we all must die of something, which is the reality of life.  I bow to him, and I’d like to tell you why.

Through my cancer experience, I read A LOT.  I decided to spend my time and energy on thriving through cancer rather than feeling victimized and only following the conventional western medical methods. Please do not get me wrong, I do not reject western medical methods, I simply expand my thinking to include the ‘whole person’ approach. I believe that if you create an unhealthy environment in your body then cancer is encouraged to grow because your immune system cannot fight off the cancer.

When I came across this book, I felt it was one of the best sources I discovered that pulls together great ‘whole person’ care into one single book.    It explains what makes cancer cells thrive and what inhibits them, and draws on both conventional and alternative ways to slow and prevent cancer.  It includes:

  • Why the traditional Western diet creates the conditions for disease and how to develop a science-based anticancer diet
  • How and why sugar and stress feed cancer and ways to achieve life balance and good nutrition to combat it
  • Why the effects of helplessness and unhealed wounds affect our ability to restore health
  • How to reap the benefits of exercise, yoga, and meditation
  • How to minimize environmental toxins
  • How to find the right blend of traditional and alternative health care

To do all of these may seem overwhelming, and you don’t have to be a purist about it all.  I do like the saying ‘everything in moderation’.  If you can swing some of your lifestyle to the healthy, whole-person approach, I think you are way ahead of the game, and can improve your chances of fighting off cancer and other diseases.

I often talk to people who are very fearful of getting cancer.  Having had cancer, I can tell you it is very scary, I won’t deny that.  But when you are motivated and empowered to take control of your situation, the fear and anxiety is greatly reduced.  Books like this one, and again, I always mention InspireHealth, are life changing resources that make a positive difference in people’s lives.

Consider picking up this book in the store or library.  I believe it will enlighten you.

Welcoming your comment . . .

